Susquehanna River Basin Commission
About Us Newsroom Public Information Programs & Activities Policies & Regulations Contact Us

Recipients of the Frederick L. Zimmermann Award

Congressman Tim Holden
Pennsylvania Congressman Tim Holden (District 17) was recognized for his work toward the restoration of federal funding in fiscal year 2009 for the Susquehanna River Basin Commission and the Delaware and Potomac river basin commissions. Congressman Holden was also instrumental in the passage of the 2007 Farm Bill that contained stronger conservation provisions in support of agriculture, the Susquehanna basin, and the Chesapeake Bay.

Representative Jerry Stern
Pennsylvania Representative Jerry Stern (District 80) was recognized for his commitment to watershed management, his unwavering support of the Commission’s water resource management activities, and his leadership for an appropriation to enable projects intended to compensate for consumptive water use by farmers in the Pennsylvania portion of the Susquehanna River Basin. One of those projects, the Barnes and Tucker facility, will also improve water quality in the West Branch Susquehanna River.

Senator Barbara A. Mikulski
Maryland Senator Barbara A. Mikulski was recognized for her many accomplishments and contributions in the area of watershed management. Senator Mikulski was successful in her efforts to restore federal funding for the Susquehanna Flood Forecast and Warning System--the basinwide warning system that helps protect lives and significantly reduce damages during flood events. In her capacity as ranking member of the Senate Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies Appropriation Committee, Senator Mikulski effectively championed this cause for the fiscal year 2006.

Senator John R. Kuhl
New York State Senator John R. Kuhl was recognized for his outstanding leadership in the New York State Senate in promoting interstate cooperation and watershed management, protecting the Upper Susquehanna and Chemung River Watersheds, and enhancing the regions’ economic development.

Delegate David Rudolph

Maryland Delegate David Rudolph was recognized for his outstanding leadership in the Maryland House of Delegates in protecting the Lower Susquehanna River watershed by bringing to the forefront issues affecting this region, including debris and sediment management and flood and drought management.

Representative Russell H. Fairchild

Pennsylvania State Representative Russell H. Fairchild was recognized for his demonstrated leadership in promoting the water resource values of the Susquehanna River and Chesapeake Bay Watersheds and fostering interstate legislative cooperation. Among his many legislative accomplishments, he formed the Susquehanna Caucus in the Pennsylvania General Assembly and initiated the first basinwide Susquehanna legislative summit.

Congressman Sherwood L. Boehlert
New York Congressman Sherwood L. Boehlert, the first recipient, was recognized for his outstanding leadership in the U.S. Congress in promoting environmental laws and renewing the commitment of the 104th Congress to environmental protection. Among his many legislative accomplishments, he led efforts to strengthen the Clean Water Act Reauthorization Bill to include wetlands protection and nonpoint source pollution abatement. He also later authorized a legislative initiative to undertake a comprehensive watershed management study for the upper Susquehanna basin.

Zimmermann Biography

Return to Commission Awards page.